InSEA Webinar: ‘Professional Learning Communities in Art and Design Education’

Led by Dr Emese Hall, University of Exeter UK

This InSEA webinar will present both theoretical and practical perspectives on the concept of a ‘Professional Learning Community’ (PLC) and invite discussion on this topic amongst presenters and participants. There will be consideration of the form and function of different types of PLCs in art and design education, with contributions from a range of members of these communities. Particular attention will be given to reflection upon the successes and challenges of PLCs in a current Erasmus+ research project, titled Visual art education in new times: Connecting Art with REal life issues (CARE).

  • Suggested pre-webinar reading: http://artsassessmentforlearning.org/communities/

 

  • A pre-webinar question to reflect upon: To what extent do your own art and design PLCs support: (a) your competence, (b) your autonomy and (C) your relationships?

 

Schedule

10 am CET (9am GMT)

Welcome and introduction – Dr Emese Hall

PLCs in Art and Design Education: What, Why and When?

10.30 CET (9.30 GMT)

PLCs in the National Society for Education in Art and Design (UK)

Michele Gregson, NSEAD General Secretary

10.45am CET (9.45am GMT)

PLCs in Visual art education in new times: Connecting Art with REal life issues (CARE)

Dr Victoria Pavlou, Frederick university, Cyprus & CARE Project Coordinator

 

CARE PLC participant perspectives...

11am CET (10am GMT)
Dr Phivi Antoniou - CARE participant, Cyprus

11.10 CET (10.10 GMT)
Dr Tereza Markidou - CARE participant, Cyprus

11.20 CET (10.20 GMT)
Sarah Cox – CARE participant, UK

11.30 CET (10.30 GMT)
Ben MacFadyen - CARE participant, UK

11.40 CET (10.40 GMT)
Sarah Morrison - CARE participant, UK

11.50 CET (10.50 GMT)
Final reflections and open discussion

 

To register, go to the Eventbrite page here.